Black Lips Map Out Spring 2014 tour

Atlanta-based garage punks Black Lips have just revealed details of an upcoming spring tour for 2014, along with the cover art for their imminent seventh full-length, Underneath the Rainbow.

The band are due to kick off their cross-country stint with a show in their hometown of Atlanta, Georgia on March 7th, with Deerhunter. After that, Black Lips will head to Austin, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Seattle, Portland, New York, and Chicago, among other places, before wrapping the shenanigans up with a show in Kansas City on April 30th. Once they’re done with that business, the band will be heading back to Austin between May 2nd and 4th for Austin Psych Fest.

Black Lips surprised fans at the end of 2013 with the announcement that they’re upcoming effort, Underneath the Rainbow, would be released on March 18th 2014. Since then, they’ve released blues-inspired single “Boys in the Wood” (see what they did there?) and the cover art for the LP, which features a shot from respected and revered and other good words beginning with ‘r’ photographer Mick Rock (David Bowie, Iggy Pop, Queen.) Said photograph shows the band looking decidedly cool in a ‘I’ve just joined a motorbike gang and I’m gonna smoke in your face’ sort of way.

Speaking previously to The Hollywood Reporter, Jared Swilley of the band said that the new album would be a combination of “club bangers and southern rock anthems”.

And, even though this won’t mean anything to you because you’ve never heard the songs, in case you fancy playing a game of ‘I wonder what these songs sound like based on their titles alone’, here is the track listing for Underneath the Rainbow:

1. “Drive By Buddy”

2. “Smiling”

3. “Make You Mine”

4. “Funny”

5. “Dorner Party”

6. “Justice After All”

7. “Boys in the Wood”

8. “Waiting”

9. “Do the Vibrate”

10. “I Don’t Wanna Go Home”

11. “Dandelion Dust”

12. “Dog Years”